The Department of Music was established in our college in the year 1949 with Smt Shanti Goverdhan as the founder Head. Subsequently Prof. Deepali Das and took charge as the Head of the Department. Prof Girija Pandey later elected as the Member of Parliament. Dr Neera Choudhury is the present Head.
The department imparts Music teaching at BA Honours and Subsidiary as well as at Post Graduate levels. Post graduate teaching in music has started from session 2010-12. This is the only department that imparts teaching of music at UG & PG levels in the entire Patna University.